Bookreview: The curious incident of the dog in the night-time

 

 

Hello, bookworms

Today I am going to write a bookreview on the book: ‘The curious incident of the dog in the night-time’. This book is about a fifteen year old math-genius, whose name is Christopher. Christopher doesn’t know what these smileys smileys tciotditnt mean. But he does know many prime numbers. Christopher doesn’t understand why his neighbors dog is killed, but he does understand that he has to write a murder mystery about it. While investigating one mystery he stumbles on another bigger one. One about his dead mother.

Characters

There is one real character in this book, Christopher. Off course there are more characters in this book, but those are just basic two-dimensional cardboard cut-outs. I didn’t feel sympathetic towards them and I couldn’t remember their names, (It is always a bad sign if you can’t remember the names of the people in the book). Christopher however, is a good and complex character. He has much personality and because the book is written as if it is Christophers diary, he feels very alive. The first week after I read the book I kept catching myself wondering ‘what would Chris do?’ I liked him, although sometimes he could be a bit irritating and whiny.

Plot

This book contains two plots, one about the dog and one about his mother. Just when the mystery of the dog starts to unravel, the one of his mother kicks-off. The first story-line is not so good and the writer nows it, so he decides to add another plot (witch is bad too), but I do like the idea. Christopher is a bit of a strange boy and you notice more and more threw the book, but the writer never tells you what Christopher actually ‘has’ (I think he is autistic). The book is written like a diary from Christophers point of view, and you get one chapter story alternated with one chapter math (Which was kind of a bummer for me because I haven’t had enough math in my life yet to understand the formula’s and stuff). The sentences are short and simple, I also wanted to mention that I noticed that nearly every sentence Christopher writes starts with an and.

Overall reading experience

I like that this book has pictures, but despite that this book is NOT a children’s book. The book is written by Mark Haddon, Mark is very good at describing emotions, the emotions and the view into Christophers mind are definitely plus-punts, the plot is less good. The book has won prizes and I understand why, but I think that there are better books out there. That’s why I give this book a…3! Itis ok, but I don’t recommend buying it.
That’s it for today, thank’s for reading my review.
Bye!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Bookreview: The curious incident of the dog in the night-time

  1. Hi Sophie, I thought it was a great review. Your English is really good for your age, however there are a couple of mistakes I can help correct if you like.
    In my opinion, I don’t think you should make a recommendation not to buy a book. It may be more useful to reccomend who might like the book and who should only borrow it from a friend or library.
    Thanks for your review.

    Like

  2. Hi Sophie, I agree with Mr.T, you have a very good command of English and a very concise précis of the book although I have not read it.( Mr.T has a spelling mistake too!!) Have you read “The Golden Compass” and the 2 sequels? I found them very exciting. Love Nannan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

