Bookreview: Before I Fall

Before I Fall cover

 “Maybe you can afford to wait. Maybe for you there’s a tomorrow. Maybe for you there’s one thousand tomorrows, or three thousand, or ten, so much time you can bathe in it, roll around it, let it slide like coins through your fingers. So much time you can waste it. But for some of us there’s only today. And the truth is, you never really know.” 

Good morning,  bookworms

I was very eager to read the New York Times Bestseller: ‘Before I Fall’. It was praised by Jay Asher, the author of one of my favorite books (‘Thirteen Reasons Why’) and it has won multiple prizes.

My Blurb

This book is about a girl, Samantha Kingston, and according to Juliet, a bitch. Juliet isn’t the only one with that opinion, Rob, Anna, and probably the rest of the school think about Samantha the same way. A bitch is not the only thing Sam is, she is popular too, unfortunately. According to the premise I thought this book was going to be a juicy guilty pleasure, a mix between the film ‘Mean Girls’ and the series ‘Pretty Little Liars’, but boy, was I wrong. After Sam dies in a car crash she relives the same day again, again and again. And every time a different version. Why does this happen? What has she done? And how can she stop this? Join Sam on her heart-wrenching, tear-drenching, prize-winning, and incredibly beautiful journey, before she falls.

Characters

Every author has his or her strong point, something in which they are the very best, and I have the feeling that creating good characters is that of Lauren Oliver. I liked the main character, Samantha Kingston, a lot. It was fun to crawl into the brain of someone who was unpopular in the past but very popular when the book starts. I also didn’t mind the very Tumblr-esk quotes that rolled out of her mouth sometimes. The character development was spot on. Not only that of Sam but also all the others too. She is someone you really sympathize with. I also liked the fact you barely knew anything about her in the beginning of the story, but that you discovered more and more through the book. The other characters where good too, I especially liked Lindsay and Juliet’s mom.

Plot

This book starts off fun, then it turns boring, and after that it just gets really, really sad. Some bits where incredibly cheesy, and others huge clichés. Yep, the plot wasn’t all too great. The thing I liked best was how every version of the same day fitted together seamlessly.

Overall Reading Experience

Despite the plot the book was an interesting read, I thought the concept quite unique, but I heard that it is similar to the film Groundhog Day. The book is written by Lauren Oliver, she is 32 years old and loves fuzzy slippers and ketchup. Other books that she has written are ‘Vanishing Girls’, ‘Panic’, and ‘Delirium’, I think I will look into those. Before I Fall was a very quick read, I finished it in a day. Before I Fall gets 3.5 out of 5 stars. I am quite disappointed with this book, it isn’t bad but I expected way more.

If you would have to relive one day for the rest of your life, which would it be?

Bye, Sophie

2 thoughts on “Bookreview: Before I Fall

  1. Avery good summary of the book. It makes me wonder why it qon a besteller award. I don’t think I will bother reading it. Be careful where you use where and were. Where means where something is placed and were is the past tense of to be as in ‘was.’You got it wrong when you said “The other characters where good too.” Otherwise your English grammar, spelling and vocabulary are excellen. Well done. xxxt

    Like

Leave a Reply

