A Celebratory Bookhaul

bookhaulbannerg

Hello Bookworms,

Today I am going to share a book haul with you, this is the first book haul I have ever posted on my blog. School finished a few days ago for the summer and to celebrate I went on a book buying spree. I usually don’t buy books, but borrow them from my local library or buy them on my e-reader, so a book haul of this size is quite a big deal for me. Because I went book shopping right after school finished it’s needless to say I went a bit nuts. I got four books, all in a different genre, and a notebook. The last doesn’t really count, but I am happy with it and I swapped it for a book I already owned. I am going to briefly review the books which I have already read, and give the Goodreads description of every book, together with the reasons why I bought it.

The Books

Throne of Glass ~ Sarah J. Maas

IMG_8154

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.
Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.
Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

This Goodreads description makes the book sound way less good than it actually is. Throne of Glass is one of the two books I already read, and I enjoyed it. I didn’t love it and it wasn’t awesome, but it was a good solid read. It is a fantasy YA novel, and the first book in a promising series. I am always a little cautious with starting series (this one is going to have six books), because you then are obliged to finish them, but I am happy I picked this book up. I am giving this book a 4 out of 5 stars, and I can’t wait to start the next.

I picked this book up because I heard loads of people rave about it, on blogs and on Youtube, and when I saw this book in the bookshop, I decided to give it a go, with all the good reviews in mind.

Naughts & Crosses ~ Malorie Blackman

IMG_8174

Callum is a naught, a second-class citizen in a society run by the ruling Crosses. Sephy is a Cross, and daughter of the man slated to become prime minister. In their world, white naughts and black Crosses simply don’t mix — and they certainly don’t fall in love. But that’s exactly what they’ve done.
When they were younger, they played together. Now Callum and Sephy meet in secret and make excuses. But excuses no longer cut it when Sephy and her mother are nearly caught in a terrorist bombing planned by the Liberation Militia, with which Callum’s family is linked. Callum’s father is the prime suspect…and Sephy’s father will stop at nothing to see him hanged. The blood hunt that ensues will threaten not only Callum and Sephy’s love for each other, but their very lives.
In this shocking thriller, UK sensation Malorie Blackman turns the world inside out. What’s white is black, what’s black is white, and only one thing is clear: Assumptions can be deadly.

I have been thinking about reading this book for a very long time, the series has it’s own featured section in the Waterstones where my eyes repeatably kept drifting of to. But every time I went to go and buy it, I got distracted by an other book and got that instead. Whilst I was on my book buying spree I decided to finally get it. This book sounds like a dystopian, but with a twist to it. I was delighted when I found out that Malorie Blackman was the writer of ‘Pig Heart Boy’, a story I read and was fascinated by as a kid. I haven’t read this book yet, but I am planning to start it when I finish ‘The Martian’.

The Rosie Project ~ Graeme Simsion

IMG_8197

An international sensation, this hilarious, feel-good novel is narrated by an oddly charming and socially challenged genetics professor on an unusual quest: to find out if he is capable of true love.
Don Tillman, professor of genetics, has never been on a second date. He is a man who can count all his friends on the fingers of one hand, whose lifelong difficulty with social rituals has convinced him that he is simply not wired for romance. So when an acquaintance informs him that he would make a “wonderful” husband, his first reaction is shock. Yet he must concede to the statistical probability that there is someone for everyone, and he embarks upon The Wife Project. In the orderly, evidence-based manner with which he approaches all things, Don sets out to find the perfect partner. She will be punctual and logical—most definitely not a barmaid, a smoker, a drinker, or a late-arriver.
Yet Rosie Jarman is all these things. She is also beguiling, fiery, intelligent—and on a quest of her own. She is looking for her biological father, a search that a certain DNA expert might be able to help her with. Don’s Wife Project takes a back burner to the Father Project and an unlikely relationship blooms, forcing the scientifically minded geneticist to confront the spontaneous whirlwind that is Rosie—and the realization that love is not always what looks good on paper.
The Rosie Project is a moving and hilarious novel for anyone who has ever tenaciously gone after life or love in the face of overwhelming challenges.

The Rosie Project is the other book I have read, and I liked it. When I first heard about the book I thought it was a kind of  ‘Lola And The French Kiss’ for adults, but when I read the first few chapters as a preview on my e-reader I was sold. This book is very funny, what mainly cracked me up were the very absurd events told in a matter of fact way. But despite this, I still didn’t love the book as it didn’t really click. I think this is because of the difficult language (it suited the narrator, but still made me skim the pages at times), and because the story is aimed at middle aged women. I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

I bought this book because I really liked the preview on my e-reader.

A Monster Calls ~ Patrick Ness and Siobhan Dowd

IMG_8206IMG_8215

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.
But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…
This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.
It wants the truth.

One of my favorite books of all time is ‘The Knife of Never Letting Go’ (as you could have read in my previous post). TKONLG is written by Patrick Ness, as is this book, and because I never have read anything else by this author I decided to give it a go. I chose this book above all the others he has written because it has won loads of prizes, and it has gotten a 4,27 out of five stars on Goodreads. This book looks absolutely beautiful, and I love the illustrations. It is such a shame that when you reach a certain age books stop having pictures in it, I love illustrations or photo’s in books, and I think they should occur way more often than they do YA novels.

The notebook

IMG_8222IMG_8234

This is the notebook, it has a world map on the cover and the pages are thick, yellowy, and lined. I like notebooks, especially empty ones. I usually buy one (or two or three, because, come on, they are amazing), write one line, put it in a drawer, and never look at it again. But that doesn’t stop me from buying them. I got this one to document my summer vacation in (which started 5 days ago 🙂 ). I am going to make a big trip with my family this year, and my plan is to write everything and anything down, so I don’t forget and can look back later on great memories.

This was my rather huge book haul, I know the post itself is kind of long too, so thanks for staying with me (here’s a sticker). I hope you enjoyed!

Bye, Sophie

What is the biggest book haul you ever had?

4 thoughts on “A Celebratory Bookhaul

Leave a Reply

