GotMC: Top five books to read in 2016

guestofthemonth clubHello, bookworms

I’ve got a rather special post for you today, since I decided to join the Guest of the Month Club for the first time. The Guest of the Month Club, or GotMC for short, is an initiative by Emily where she pairs you up with another book blogger to do a post for their blog and vice versa. If this sounds like fun to you (it is), you can hop on over to her blog and sign up! (If you click on her name here above, it will take you straight to it). I got paired up with Jocelyn this month, who runs a reading and writing blog, and this is her post:

 

2016 will be an amazing year for books, I’m sure. My favorites of the year will probably end up being the ones I don’t expect, the ones I pick up on a whim—that’s how I find my favorite new authors. However, here are the five books I know that I’ll love. They are mostly sequels, and all from authors that I love. If you haven’t read anything from these authors—fix that! You won’t regret it. And if you’re like me and you’ve read these authors’ other books, you’re probably just as desperate to read these books as I am!

1. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #4, releases April 26, 2016)

The Raven Cycle has been steadily destroying my heart for the last few years. I am obsessed with the characters, in love with the subtle world-building, and head-over-heels desperate for my ships to sail. The Raven King is the last book in this series and I know that it will probably ruin me, but I’m ready for it. I need to know what happens!

2. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (ACOTAR #2, releases May 3, 2016)

Over the last years, I’ve steadily fallen more and more in love with Sarah J. Maas as a writer. Her Throne of Glass series is incredible, and her A Court of Mist and Fury series promises to be just as great. I love the fairytale elements, the romance is swoon-worthy, and I want to see Feyre’s character develop even more than she already has.

3. Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray (The Diviners #2)

This book came out last year, the sequel to The Diviners. Libba Bray is one of my all-time favorite authors, and this might be her most ambitious and complex story yet. I meant to read this book in 2015, but both books are incredibly long and I didn’t have the patience for it last year. I want to know what will happen, I want to know where the characters will go, and I want to spend more time in the amazing historical world.

4. Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson (The Alloy of Law #2)

Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series remains one of the most mind-blowing series I’ve ever read. His spin-off series has a Firefly-esque feeling that brought out all of my fangirl squeals. Heartbreak wasn’t a major part of the first spin-off (The Alloy of Law), but I doubt that that trend will continue in the second book. I already own this book, I’m just waiting for the right moment to crack it open.

5. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Ryan Graudin is a new favorite of mine. I read The Walled City a few weeks ago and it blew me away with its gritty realism. Wolf by Wolf promises to be a fascinating alternate history, and I can’t wait to experience more of Ryan Graudin’s story crafting.

Thank you to Sophie for being my partner this month! She’s honestly one of my favorite book bloggers—we started blogging around the same time and I’ve always felt a special connection with her—and I’m so glad that we got to join together for January!

 

Thank you so much Jocelyn for writing this awesome post! You can go follow her by clicking on her name (I have just learnt how to link things and I am enjoying technology very much right now 🙂 ). I hope you guys enjoyed today’s post, I will be back with a Monthly Must soon. That’s it for now,

Bye, Sophie

2 thoughts on “GotMC: Top five books to read in 2016

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up! | 52 letters in the alphabet

  2. Wow, we’re really into A Court of Mist and Fury. I mean, it’s on my list, and I saw it on at least two more. I guess it really tells something about S. J. Maas. She sure knows how to pull readers in. 🙂
    I definitely have to agree, the romance in ACOTAR was great. Whatever some might say, I really loved it.
    And Wolf by Wolf is also on my radar. It sounds like a really intriguing book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

