Monthly Must: A Monster Calls

Knipsel

Hello, bookworms

Welcome to the third installment of ‘Monthly Must’, where I recommend a book I love every first day of the month. This month I am going to recommend ‘A Monster Calls’ by Patrick Ness. I read this book recently and it broke my heart, in a good way. It’s absolutely magical and the epitome of everything Patrick Ness. This book made me cry, twice, and I can’t recommend it enough. But first, the Goodreads description:

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

I am usually not very fond of book descriptions by Goodreads, I think they tend to spoil the book or stay unclear about what the story is about. But I think this one is pretty much on point, it’s a little vague but it’s best to go into this story without knowing to much (trust me, I bought it without knowing a single thing and it was AWESOME).

The characters were crafted perfectly, you get to know them through and through, without being aware of how they look or what their favorite food is. This is something Patrick Ness does in his other books too and I think it works really well, you get the feeling Patrick Ness knows all these mundane facts anyway, but he chooses to just not share it. The world building was on point too, supported by the beautiful illustrations by Jim Kay. Just like the plot, pace, and anything really: I can’t think of a single thing I disliked.

This might sound a little weird, but the best thing about this book was the story. And I know that with most books the story is an enumeration of the characters, plot, world building and so forth.

But with ‘A Monster Calls’ this isn’t the case. This story is more like a living breathing thing, made of many layers, waiting to be unfolded. A story that, after it’s unraveled, will never let you go. I know I am turning a little poetical right now, but this book deserves it, I have never seen anything like ‘A Monster Calls’ and I doubt I ever will.

Some people say this is a kid’s book, since it’s pretty short and it doesn’t contain any romance or murder, but I disagree. I think everyone will like it since it has so many layers, and your age shouldn’t hold you back from reading it. And if you haven’t convinced you yet, just take a look at this picture:

5812917325_0130eef6a3

Isn’t this the most beautiful thing you have ever seen? I mean, how can somebody even draw that? I’ll attach another picture at the bottom of this post so you can just stare at the marvelousness of Jim Kay for a little longer.

If you haven’t read this book yet I recommend you pick it up, and if you have read it I recommend you pick it up again. I hope you enjoyed this post, I am going to be back soon with whatever I feel like writing.

Bye, Sophie

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Must: A Monster Calls

Leave a Reply

