Book review: Faceless

bookreviewbanner

Damnnnn bookworms,

I’m back at it again with the blog posts, it’s been way to long. Today I am going to write a book review on ‘Faceless’ by Alyssa Scheinmel. The book follows Maisie, who after waking up from an induced coma, discovers half her face has burnt off in an electrical fire (Yup, this isn’t some light and easy contemporary novel). Her nose, cheeks, and chin have completely disappeared, together with the rest of her life. She used to be a runner on the track team, and now she can barely walk. As Maisie discovers how much her looks shaped her relationship to the world, she has to redefine her own identity, and figure out what ‘lucky’ really means.

I picked this book up after browsing my local (and only) bookstore for 45 minutes. Too awkward to leave without buying anything, I grabbed this book of its shelf because the cover looked amazing and the title stood out. The blurb was short but intriguing, and after seeing the amazing rating on Goodreads, I walked to the till without hesitating once (and I’m glad I didn’t, because boy, this book is a very special snowflake). The second I came home I started reading the book, only to finish it two days later. Needless to say, I enjoyed it.

I liked Maisie as a protagonist, she was cool and very honest. I also liked the fact that she was angry after she had her accident, instead of grateful that it was her and not one of her loved ones. She didn’t want to be one of those super inspiring people who pick their lives up merrily after almost dying, and she wasn’t. All of this made her seem very real, because I don’t think most people would be of the inspiring kind, at least, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be. After reading all of this you wouldn’t think Maisie would be a drama queen, alas, the opposite is true. Some scenes and situations were unnecessarily complicated and messy because of this. But, she earned the right to be dramatic, I mean, her face got burned off, what did you expect?

The side characters were good too, in exception of one (but he only popped up at the end of the book and didn’t have a very prominent role, so you’re good). Nearly all the side characters were yer big olde stereotypes. The worried and overbearing mother, the depressed, silent father, and the supportive best friend. This was something I didn’t really mind, since they were written well anyways. I also liked her boyfriend, he was a complex character. All in all I enjoyed this book, but it didn’t have that special factor what makes me give a book four stars. It was an unique tale and I kept thinking about it for quite some time, but it didn’t blow my mind like Illuminae or More Happy Than Not. So, 3.5 stars for Faceless it is. I recommend to everyone who’s into contemporary books, or is in the mood for something a little different. I hope you enjoyed this review!

Bye, Sophie

P.s We hit 150 bookworms recently, a fact which makes me incredibly happy. This blog is growing so quickly, it’s only months since there were only a mere 100 of us crawling along cyberspace. I’d like to thank everyone (including you, yes, you) for reading my blog, and I am very excited for the posts to come!

 

6 thoughts on “Book review: Faceless

Leave a Reply

